roompricegenie logo

Fragen Sie die Experten #4 - Entscheidungsfindungstechnologie mit Scott Dahl

Dynamische Preisgestaltung

In dieser Folge unserer Reihe "Fragen Sie die Experten" hatten wir das Glück, uns mit dem Direktor des Masterstudiengangs bei Les Roches Global Hospitality und Allround-Guru des Gastgewerbes/Ertragsmanagements, Scott Dahl.  

Mit seiner langjährigen Erfahrung im Revenue Management und im akademischen Bereich wollten wir von Scott wissen, in welche Art von Technologie er kleinen Hotels empfehlen würde. Scott empfahl zwar einige wichtige Akteure wie ein Property Management System (PMS) und einen Channel Manager, aber er legte auch großen Wert auf geeignete Technologien zur Entscheidungsfindung. Zum Beispiel eine Software zur Umsatzverwaltung wie unsere hier bei RoomPriceGenie kann Ihnen helfen, Ihre täglichen Preisgestaltungsaufgaben zu automatisieren, ohne dass Sie dafür mehr Personal benötigen. Es kann Sie bei schwierigen Entscheidungsprozessen, wie z.B. der dynamischen Preisgestaltung, unterstützen, ohne die Liste Ihrer Aufgaben zu verlängern! Scott war sogar so begeistert von der Arbeit von RoomPriceGenie, dass er unserem Vorstand beigetreten ist. 

Erfahren Sie mehr darüber, was Scott zu diesem Thema zu sagen hatte, indem Sie sich das folgende Video ansehen. Wenn Sie mehr über RoomPriceGenie erfahren möchten und darüber, wie wir Ihrem Unternehmen helfen können, Kontakt eines unserer Expertenteams noch heute.

RPG: In welche Technologie sollten Sie als kleines Hotel investieren? 

SD:  Meiner Meinung nach brauchen Sie ganz klar ein Immobilienverwaltungssystem. Ich glaube, dass jedes Hotel, das derzeit versucht, mit Papier zu arbeiten... Ich glaube nicht, dass sich die Investition für die Mitarbeiter auszahlt. Ich denke, ein Immobilienverwaltungssystem ist der richtige Weg. Es gibt Cloud-basierte Systeme, die recht erschwinglich sind - das würde ich also als erstes sagen. 

Offensichtlich irgendeine Form von Vertriebstechnologie. Sie müssen natürlich in der Lage sein, Ihr Produkt in die elektronischen Kanäle zu bringen. Ohne ein System zur Verwaltung der Vertriebskanäle ist das unmöglich. Sie brauchen also eine Art von Vertriebstechnologie. 

Und schließlich eine Technologie zur Entscheidungsfindung. Eine Art Unterstützung bei der Umsatzverwaltung. Und das hängt wirklich davon ab, wie viele Ressourcen Sie für die Verwaltung des Hotels und die Verwaltung dieser Ressourcen haben. Aber selbst in einem Betrieb, der es sich nicht leisten kann, viel mehr Verantwortung zu übernehmen, oder wenn es zusätzliche Prozesse gibt, müssen Sie auch das Personal für die Verwaltung dieser Prozesse aufstocken. RoomPriceGeniedie die Arbeitsbelastung nicht erhöhen, aber die Entscheidungsfindung unterstützen.

Ask The Experts #4 – Decision Making Technology with Scott Dahl

On this instalment of our ‘Ask The Experts’ series, we were fortunate enough to sit down with Director of Master’s at Les Roches Global Hospitality and all-round hospitality/revenue management guru, Scott Dahl.  

With a long history in revenue management as well as academia, we decided to pick Scott’s brains on the type of hospitality technology he would recommend small hotels investing in. Whilst Scott recommended some key players such as a Property Management System (PMS) and a channel manager, he took a keen focus on suitable decision-making technology. For example, revenue management software like ours here at RoomPriceGenie can help you automate your daily pricing tasks without requiring an increase in manpower to run it. It can offer you support in tough decision-making processes such as dynamic pricing without adding to your list of jobs! In fact, Scott was such a fan of the work being done at RoomPriceGenie, he’s joined our board of directors. 

Find out more about what Scott had to say on the matter by watching the video below. If you’d like more information on RoomPriceGenie and how we can help your business, contact one of our team of experts today.

RPG: What technology would you recommend investing in as a small hotel? 

SD:  Clearly you have to have a property management system, in my opinion.  I think that any hotel that is trying to do that with paper at this point…I don’t think there’s a return on investment people-wise. I think a property management system is the way to go.  There are cloud-based ones that are quite affordable – so I would say that first. 

Obviously some form of distribution technology. Clearly, you need to be able to get your product to the electronic channels. Without some sort of channel management system, it is impossible to do that. So clearly some kind of distribution technology. 

And finally, some decision-making technology. Some type of assistance in the revenue management effort. And that really is going to be governed by the amount of resources you have to manage the hotel and manage those resources. But even in an operation that can’t really afford to take on a whole lot more responsibility or if there is going to be additional processes, you are also going to have to augment the manpower to manage those processes, there are products like RoomPriceGenie, for example, that do not increase the amount of workload yet do provide decision-making support.

You liked this article? Subscribe to our blog

Stay up with the latest Revenue Management, Digital Marketing and Hotel Technology trends. 

Related articles

9 things we’ve learned by doing pricing for hundreds of smaller hotels
9 things we’ve learned by doing pricing for hundreds of smaller hotels

Running a small hotel is more than just a business, it is often a way …

Advanced Revenue Management
How to Not Lose Money using OTA Discounts!

If you want to see a small-hotel owner get frustrated very quickly, a sure-fire way …

Your hotel’s prices are probably too low! Basics of Revenue Management
Your hotel’s prices are probably too low!

We often find that the hotels we set up are not, in our opinion, charging …

Try RoomPriceGenie for your property

14-day free trial. No credit card required.